About Miagao


The Municipality has a total land area of 15,722.04 hectares. The poblacion, composed of eight (8) barangays, has an area of 299.54 hectares and the remaining 111 barangays has a total area of 15,422.50.

Miagao, a brief History

Miagao became an independent Municipality in 1716. It used to be a part or arrabal of four (4) different towns. Record shows that before Miagao became a town, it was an arrabal of Oton until 1580; of Tigbauan until 1952; of Suaraga or Suaragan (now San Joaquin) until 1703; and of Guimbal until 1716 when it became an independent town. It was until 1731, however, when Miagao had its own head.  Read more: Miagao, a brief History

Municipal Profiles

Religious Heritage

Historical Heritage

News & Announcement

Miagiao, Philippines

Read More About Miagao

Clearing and preparation of pumpboats' docking area beside river delta at Barangay Guibongan. This will be the refuge area in case of the onslaught of typhoon Betty in Miagao.

read more

The members of the Zonta Club of Iloilo City, Inc. turned over their donations to the Miagao Women Weavers on May 25, 2023. The donation was the proceeds from the Elegance of Nono Palmos fashion show in Iloilo City recently. THANK YOU for tour generosity. May tour...

read more