About Miagao


The Municipality has a total land area of 15,722.04 hectares. The poblacion, composed of eight (8) barangays, has an area of 299.54 hectares and the remaining 111 barangays has a total area of 15,422.50.

Miagao, a brief History

Miagao became an independent Municipality in 1716. It used to be a part or arrabal of four (4) different towns. Record shows that before Miagao became a town, it was an arrabal of Oton until 1580; of Tigbauan until 1952; of Suaraga or Suaragan (now San Joaquin) until 1703; and of Guimbal until 1716 when it became an independent town. It was until 1731, however, when Miagao had its own head.  Read more: Miagao, a brief History

Municipal Profiles

Religious Heritage

Historical Heritage

News & Announcement

Miagiao, Philippines

Read More About Miagao

Alay Lakad funds to finance ALS Program

MIAGAO, Iloilo – The Municipal Social Welfare and Development Office (MSWDO) collected a total amount of P44,689.00 from the Alay Lakad activity on September 8, 2019 and this amount will finance the Alternative Learning System (ALS) Program for the out-of-school...

read more

MDRRMC bags 2nd Best Gawad KALASAG

MIAGAO, Iloilo – THE Municipal Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (MDRRMC) was awarded 2nd Best 1st to 4th Class LDRRMC Category in the 21st Gawad KALASAG Awarding Ceremony 2019 of the Regional Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council through the...

read more