About Miagao


The Municipality has a total land area of 15,722.04 hectares. The poblacion, composed of eight (8) barangays, has an area of 299.54 hectares and the remaining 111 barangays has a total area of 15,422.50.

Miagao, a brief History

Miagao became an independent Municipality in 1716. It used to be a part or arrabal of four (4) different towns. Record shows that before Miagao became a town, it was an arrabal of Oton until 1580; of Tigbauan until 1952; of Suaraga or Suaragan (now San Joaquin) until 1703; and of Guimbal until 1716 when it became an independent town. It was until 1731, however, when Miagao had its own head.  Read more: Miagao, a brief History

Municipal Profiles

Religious Heritage

Historical Heritage

News & Announcement

Miagiao, Philippines

Read More About Miagao

2024 Census of Population and Community-Based Monitoring System Barangay Profile Questionnaire (BPQ) Data Collection, Service Facilities and Government Projects (SFGP) Listing Orientation, May 13, 2024

read more


A member of the Communist Terrorist Group voluntarily surrendered to the 61st Infantry Hunter Battalion at Camp Monteclaro, Barangay Igtuba, Miagao on May 1, 2024. The individual, a 31-year-old male native of one of the barangays in Miagao, had joined the CTG sometime...

read more


To ease the burden brought about by drought due to the El Nino Phenomenon, approximately 250 Miagowanon rice and bulb onion farmers were given food packs in a distribution at the Regional Evacuation Center on May 10, 2024. The distribution, spearheaded by the...

read more